School Governors

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the Headteacher, staff and the Local Authority. Whilst the Headteacher is, of course, responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

At St James (Daisy Hill) CE Primary School the governing body consists of:

  • The Head teacher
  • One elected Staff Governor
  • One appointed Local Authority Governor
  • Four elected Parent Governors
  • Three Co-opted Governors
  • Three Foundation Governors
  • One Community Governor

The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The chair of governors is Mr Graham Burrows, who can be contacted via the school office

Much of the work of the governing body is done by committees. At St James (Daisy Hill) CE Primary School, we have the following committees:

Resources Committee

Members: Mr G Burrows, Ms S Gregory, Dr E Lou, Mrs L Love, Mrs N Podmore, Mrs V Postill, Mrs J Smithies (or nominees) and the Head Teacher
Chair: Mrs V Postill
Clerk: Carole Brooks, Governor Services
Qourom: At least 3 governors

Included in the remit of this committee is Health and Safety, staffing and school finances.

Enjoy and Achieve Committee

Members: Mr G Burrows, Ms J Gardner, Mrs H Lane, Mrs J Prince, Revd. K Screeton, Cllr G Williams (or nominees) and the Head Teacher
Chair: Ms J Gardner
Clerk: Carole Brooks, Governor Services
Qourom: At least 3 governors

This committee holds the school to account over the way it provides the relevant education for all the children in the school.

The chairs of these committees are elected at the first committee meeting of each academic year.

Nominated Governor Roles/Responsibilities


Head Teacher Appraisal Governors (3)-Chair, Cllr G Williams and Mrs V Postill

Partnership Governor-Mrs J Smithies

Link Governor for Training-Mr G Burrows

School Website-Dr Eric Lou

Vulnerable Groups

Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND)– Ms J Gardner

Pupil Premium Champion -Ms J Gardner

Children Looked After– Revd. K Screeton

Class Links

Nursery – Mrs L Love

Reception – Cllr. G Williams

1B – Mrs J Smithies

2U – Revd. K Screeton

2W – Mrs L Love

3P – Mrs H Lane

3C – Mrs V Postill

4K – Mr G Burrows

4SB – Mr G Burrows

5B – Mrs N Podmore

5C – Dr E Lou

6H – Ms J Gardner and Mrs S Gregory

6W – Ms J Gardner and Mrs S Gregory

Curriculum (Subject) Links

Reading – Mrs S Gregory

Writing and SPAG – Cllr G Williams

Maths – Mrs L Love

Science – Mrs H Lane

Computing/ICT – Dr E Lou

RE/Worship – Revd. K Screeton

Nursery – Mrs L Love

School Development Plan Links

Teaching and Learning – Mrs V Postill

Attendance – Mr G Burrows

Mental Health and Well Being – Mrs J Smithies

Safeguarding Links

Safeguarding – Mrs V Postill and Mrs S Gregory

Single Central Record (SCR) – Mrs V Postill

Safer Recruitment – Head Teacher, Mrs J Prince, Mr G Burrows

Health and Safety – Cllr G Williams and Mrs N Podmore

Equal Opportunities, Ethnicity & Anti-Harassment – Mr G Burrows

Child Protection, Drugs Education/PSHE – Mrs V Postill


Title Download
Register of Pecuniary Interest
  1 files      8 downloads
Governor Membership List
  1 files      29 downloads
Governor Attendance Record (Autumn 2017-Summer 2018)
  1 files      17 downloads